• If you would like to get your account Verified, read this thread
  • The TMF is sponsored by Clips4sale - By supporting them, you're supporting us.
  • >>> If you cannot get into your account email me at [email protected] <<<
    Don't forget to include your username

The TMF is sponsored by:

Clips4Sale Banner

Computer Genius Needed (Security patch question)

MistressValerie1

Administrator
Hi, tech genius people ... is there anyone who knows if the Microsoft security patch 828035 (Workstation/Messenger exploit) is associated with crashes of Windows Explorer (explorer.exe)? I had some problems after installing it, but they may have been caused by some Active-X controls from pcpitstop.com which I installed the same day. I removed BOTH the patch and the Active-X's and have had no problems for 11 days, so I have just reinstalled the patch and am nervously watching it ...

Thanks in advance,

um im not really a techie but from what research i did online about it. i f ound NO website really that talked about the 828035 patch. Being associated with Windows explorer(explorer.exe) at all

But maybe someone could tell you more about yes or no on this. But from what i have read NO its not Valerie

That may not help you

But i tried atleast🙂

Ouch, beware the dreaded Active-X's, Valerie. They can turn your machine into a worthless pile of parts if you get a bad one. It was more than likely them.

Thanks guys for the info 🙂 When I checked at Microsoft's newsgroup, I couldn't find anything about the patch either, but I did find an article in their Knowledge Base stating that "third-party performance monitoring software" can cause crashes, so it was, indeed, most likely the PC Pitstop Active-X controls.

Happy tickling,