• The TMF is sponsored by Clips4sale - By supporting them, you're supporting us.
  • >>> If you cannot get into your account email me at [email protected] <<<
    Don't forget to include your username

The TMF is sponsored by:

Clips4Sale Banner

Has Anyone Tried Those New LED Light Bulbs?

kurchatovium

Wielder of 100 Feathers
I was looking at different light bulbs that last longer then incasdescents ( and yes I know about CFLs and dont want them) These LED ones last a really long time which is good for me because its hard for me to get on a ladder to replace bulbs when they burn out. I think they use less energy too and I like the spectrum profile matches up better with incadescents. I am an artist so the light output is important. The big problem now is they are a bit pricey. Cheapest I found was 20-25 dollars a bulb. If they last ten years though thats not too bad. Some of the fancier bulbs change colors and have a remote control. Thats a bit much LOL but sounds way cool. :p Has anyone else tried these out?

I have three of them in my bathroom Kurch, 40 or 60 watt I think. The management here paid for them and they are not marked anywhere I can see. They produce a "softer" light then the old bulbs but are more then adequate for a bathroom. I can't speak about the higher watt LED bulbs. As to how long they last, I don't know that either, mine are less then a year old.

I have three of them in my bathroom Kurch, 40 or 60 watt I think. The management here paid for them and they are not marked anywhere I can see. They produce a "softer" light then the old bulbs but are more then adequate for a bathroom. I can't speak about the higher watt LED bulbs. As to how long they last, I don't know that either, mine are less then a year old.

There max life is about 30,000 hours, an average incadescent lasts about 1500 hours.

I'm curious, Kurch, what don't you like about CFL's?