• The TMF is sponsored by Clips4sale - By supporting them, you're supporting us.
  • >>> If you cannot get into your account email me at [email protected] <<<
    Don't forget to include your username

The TMF is sponsored by:

Clips4Sale Banner

Instant Messengers

somebody231

4th Level Red Feather
- AIM / AOL Instant Messenger
- ICQ Messenger
- MSN Messenger
- Yahoo! Messenger
- Xfire

I personally use MSN and it bugs big time with numerous bugs... everyone uses it so that's the reason I do aswell. The file-transfer is slow compared to IRC's DCC Send and sometimes the network lags so much, you can't see your friends messages or he/she can't see yours.
Sometimes the custom smileys also bug, they won't show up (download from the other person).

I also use Xfire and it works like a charm, except you can't change the font unless you modify .ini-files and the file-transfer is kinda like in a beta-phase... you can't even see the download bar.

I have no experience with the other software mentioned above, except I once tried to install AOL and hated the installer... don't remember how it was. but it did something without asking permission.

I once tried ICQ and it was OK, but hated the "ICQ Numbers" as ID, instead of your email addy. I mean which is easier to remember? [email protected] or 3245317526 ? :D Well can someone tell me for example how Yahoo! Messenger is? Everyone seems to blame yahoo for it's geocities' sucky bandwith and groups "dissappearing".

Please give your opinion on this and reply!

I use only MSN, and for two reasons:

a) I know my way around it
b) It's more popular (what's the point in being with a messenger service when none of your friends use it?)

Sorry I didnae make this answer more detailed.

I use MSN most often cause it's what the people I talk to use. The webcam and file transfer on MSN is the best.